Linus’ Bama Style BBQ

Guys. I know I don’t usually do restaurant reviews here, but I went to a restaurant so good that I have changed my mind! Over the holiday weekend, The Brit and I headed to Namsan Tower to put our engagement lock on the Locks of Love wall. Since we were in such close proximity to Itaewon, we decided to make our way over there for dinner. We’d heard great things about Linus’ Bama Style BBQ from our friends and had been wanting to try it out for awhile. We figured that due to the holiday weekend, the crowds wouldn’t be out in full force. We were right! We had a very short wait before we were seated, but had decided we loved the restaurant well before we were seated. The restaurant has a backyard BBQ atmosphere, with wooden benches for the outdoor seating. The oldies playing overhead reminded my of summertime BBQs from my childhood and had The Brit and I singing along. The humor in the signage was an added bonus; the wifi is Guess What? The password is porkbutt. Another throwback to my childhood days.

The service is excellent – especially by Korean standards. We were promptly greeted by our waitress and offered drinks. We had another laugh as we perused the menu. Each item has a chuckle inducing description that makes you want to order one of everything. And we nearly did! We got the BBQ set for two, which comes with two kinds of meat, three sides and six buns of sliders. We got the fries, mashed potatoes and potato salad as our sides. Can you tell we love us some potatoes? The mashed potatoes were great, but the potato salad was legit the best I’ve ever had. We also ordered the fried pickles, fried okra and smokey mac ‘n’ cheese. We ordered so much other food that we never ended up touching the fries. We also ordered a Great White and an Indica IPA, which always makes me happy because it reminds me of home. The Lost Coast Brewery is in the same town as my university and was a staple at all the college parties.

By the time we left, we were in full on food coma status. I was uncomfortable for hours. But oh so satisfied. We couldn’t believe we waited so long to check it out, and we will definitely be back again soon. To get to Linus’, go to the McDonald’s in Itaewon. Directly to the left of McDonald’s is a glass door with a staircase leading down into a shady looking hallway. Go through the shady looking hallway and emerge into BBQ heaven. Here is their Facebook page. And here is my Tumblr so you can check out more hunger inducing photos from our dinner.

146

Leave your 2¢ here.

