Avengers: Age of Ultron

“Guess who’s back, back again. Megan’s back, tell a friend.” I’m pretty sure those are the lyrics, right guys? So it’s been an embarrassing amount of time awhile since my last post… But now I’m back! With new and improved intentions! And with an exciting topic so you’l hopefully forget that I’m terrible at this I haven’t been here in awhile. As you may already know, the new Avengers movie was filmed in part in Seoul. Last year, The Brit and I went to Gangnam to watch some of the filming. I meant to write about it last year but… Anywho, the scene we saw being filmed was the one where Black Widow is cruising through the streets of Gangnam on her motorcycle and I have BIG NEWS about ScarJo’s stunt double. In the wise words of Austin Powers, “That’s not a woman, that’s a man, baby!” I don’t know why this thrills me so, but it does (let’s be real – we all know why this thrills me.). And I learned something else very important that day. Watching a movie being filmed is decidedly less exciting than you’d think. Especially when Chris Evans isn’t even around.

Fast forward to a couple of weeks ago, when The Brit and I finally got around to watching it on the big screen. (Comic book movies get released in Korea early. NBD.) My professional opinion was that the movie was…wait for it…alright. It was fun, but maybe a little long. I liked the first one better. But the parts in Seoul! The Brit and I agree that that was hands down our favorite part. It was so exciting to see  places we have been/regularly go on the big screen. This is a new experience for me. Not a lot of movies take place in Sacramento, guys. Though it hasn’t happened yet, we’re certain that it will pique people’s interest in our lives here in Korea. Much like Gangnam Style. (Please ask us questions! We love it. Seriously.) Fun fact: the building they pretend is the Korean doctor’s office is actually a convention hall. And the other building has a cafe called CNN Cafe at the bottom. If you go into the cafe, they have CNN constantly playing on, like, six TVs. It’s kind of weird. It’s a bit of a shame that they didn’t film it at night because at night it looks like this:

195

If you want to check out a few more photos from the filming, check out my Tumblr.

Leave your 2¢ here.

